The Most Profound Video Lecture Ever Created Ever

 

 

I’ll go ahead and say it – I really don’t like TED Talks.  I don’t get them. It’s not that I don’t enjoy the occasional TED Talk every once in a while, it’s just that I don’t know what they’re supposed to be.   People talk about them like they’re the greatest installment in the education system since the whiteboard, and yet not one of these TED fanatics can tell me what a TED Talk really is. I mean, are they lectures? Videos? Stories? Motivational speeches? A combination of all of the above? Has anyone ever even been to a TED Talk? Do people even go to these talks at all? Because I’ve never seen a shot of an audience member in one of these videos. And what the hell is TEDx? A niche subcategory of a TED Talk? And how can you have a subcategory of something that really can’t even be categorized?  I want answers!   What are you, TED?!

I like to think that this guy shares my frustration.

Finally, someone realized the ridiculousness of this TED Talk institution and decided to tell the world.

I don’t want to discuss this video a whole lot, because I want you to watch it for yourself, but it is clear that this guy is having an absolute blast.

First of all, he comes out wearing a costume that’s essentially a miserable excuse for a Spartan Warrior. And then he starts talking… about everything. Or nothing, depending on which way you look at it. And the best part is how aware he is… He knows exactly what he’s doing. He has two audiences: the first audience is people who love TED Talks and will eat up anything he says because, well, he’s giving a TED Talk. The second audience is people like me – people who don’t really understand the first audience. And he caters to both of them so well for two completely different reasons. 

And it is for that reason alone that renders this the most effective and groundbreaking TED Talk ever created.

 

 

Leave a comment