The Super Human

What are we if not stories?

Stories bring people together. And good stories make people feel more human.

In the last year or so of my life, I have become keenly aware of the “story” of my life. I have gained an awareness that has allowed me to contextualize the events and decisions and people in my life into stories. And all of these stories play their own integral parts in my life; they define my identity, they make up my story.

And the best part about “my story” is also the best part about yours: stories don’t just happen, they are written by the storyteller. And all of us have our own story that we get to write. We get to define our character, make decisions that reflect who we are, and no matter what the circumstances, a good character will always live a good story.

The title of this blog is called “Super Human,” not “superhuman.” I mean it would be really awesome to be a superhuman, but that’s a very unrealistic goal to set for myself. What I want to be is a super human. I want to be awesome. I want to be the hero that I would root for. I want to look back at my decisions and choices and be proud of the ones that I made, even if they didn’t get me to where I wanted to go. I want to look back at the people I’ve met and the friends that I’ve made, the supporting roles, if you will. I want them to be awesome too.

This blog is dedicated to exploring what a good story is. What makes a story interesting? What makes a character interesting? And most of all, how are we going to share our story?

What is your story?

Leave a Reply

